iPads Are Reinventing The Corporate Travel Experience


Over 10 million iPads were sold in 2010, and it is expected that 24 million units will be sold in 2011. As a consequence, it’s easy to see why iPads are becoming more commonplace throughout the business travel experience. Not only am I seeing a growing number of tablet touting business travelers, I’m also noticing travel service providers getting in on the action. For example, some tech savvy airlines are handing out iPads as first and business class personal in-flight entertainment systems.

At a recent stay at the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Las Vegas, which in my opinion is one of the most wired hotels on the planet, I noticed an iPad embedded within the hotel registration counter. While the check-in agent processed my reservation and prepared my room key, I was able to virtually “tap and swipe” my way through the hotel’s many facilities and services. During the check-out process, rather than printing both a preliminary and a final folio, I was able to eyeball and approve my line-item charges on the iPad, thereby halving the hotel’s paper output – green, ay?

Please post your comments below if you are aware of any existing or emerging ways that tablets will reinvent the business travel experience…

~ Theo Szymanski

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

