Business Travelers Will Welcome “Rapid Battery Recharge” Technology


If I were to create a list of pros and cons associated with my use of mobile technology, I could sum up my cons on a cocktail napkin. My top three cons are: short battery life; running out of battery juice when I most need it and the amount of time it takes to recharge my mobile phone/laptop battery. Living in an “instant gratification” world, I’ve often pondered the possibility of a new “flash recharge” technology that would give you the ability to recharge your battery in a matter of seconds vs. hours. Well, thanks to the folks at MIT and other progressive scientists, I predict that we’ll enjoy the benefits of this technology within the next few years.

Based on a MITnews article published back in 2009, scientists have been tinkering around with new, state-of-the-art lithium rechargeable batteries that have very high energy densities. Using a new power processing technique, scientists manufactured a small battery that could be fully charged or discharged in 10 to 20 seconds (it normally takes an average of six minutes to fully charge or discharge a cell made from traditional materials).

Imagine walking up to a “flash recharge kiosk” at an airport or hotel lobby. You connect your device, and in the time it takes to watch a 30 second Kony-sponsored video commercial, your battery is fully recharged. I look forward to that day…

~ Theo Szymanski

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

