Hotel Wi-Fi Woes


hotel guestThese days, a hotel room serves as my “virtual office” while traveling.  I’m always pleasantly surprised when I walk into the room and see a modern desk with plenty of power outlets, and a comfortable, adjustable office chair.  Occasionally, my mood sours when I attempt to connect to the Internet.

Like me, you’ve probably experienced buyer’s remorse after forking out hefty hotel Wi-Fi charges.  So, rather than enduring bandwidth speeds that seem to move at a glacial pace, followed by the hassle of requesting a Wi-Fi charge refund, wouldn’t it be great to know a hotel’s Wi-Fi speed before committing to a reservation?

Services like Hotel Wi-Fi Test are starting to gain a lot of attention for obvious reasons.  They collect, analyze and distribute hotel Wi-Fi data from around the world.  That data is then made available to travelers during the shopping experience, giving them the ability to factor “bandwidth” into their booking criteria.

Personally, if I have a choice of several travel policy-compliant hotels, I would gravitate towards those with guaranteed high speed Wi-Fi.

Please enter your thoughts, comments and experiences in the comments section below.  What’s your take on the subject?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Hotel Wi-Fi Woes

  1. tkmead says:

    Ugh. I travel for business and use my nights to catch back up with the office. I can’t stand the hotel WiFi speeds that make this nearly, if not completely, impossible. I have knocked hotels off my future stay lists for just this reason. Looking b forward to more consistent WiFi data com I no out on hotels up front.

Leave a comment