Hotel Wi-Fi Woes


hotel guestThese days, a hotel room serves as my “virtual office” while traveling.  I’m always pleasantly surprised when I walk into the room and see a modern desk with plenty of power outlets, and a comfortable, adjustable office chair.  Occasionally, my mood sours when I attempt to connect to the Internet.

Like me, you’ve probably experienced buyer’s remorse after forking out hefty hotel Wi-Fi charges.  So, rather than enduring bandwidth speeds that seem to move at a glacial pace, followed by the hassle of requesting a Wi-Fi charge refund, wouldn’t it be great to know a hotel’s Wi-Fi speed before committing to a reservation?

Services like Hotel Wi-Fi Test are starting to gain a lot of attention for obvious reasons.  They collect, analyze and distribute hotel Wi-Fi data from around the world.  That data is then made available to travelers during the shopping experience, giving them the ability to factor “bandwidth” into their booking criteria.

Personally, if I have a choice of several travel policy-compliant hotels, I would gravitate towards those with guaranteed high speed Wi-Fi.

Please enter your thoughts, comments and experiences in the comments section below.  What’s your take on the subject?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hotel Wi-Fi Woes

  1. tkmead says:

    Ugh. I travel for business and use my nights to catch back up with the office. I can’t stand the hotel WiFi speeds that make this nearly, if not completely, impossible. I have knocked hotels off my future stay lists for just this reason. Looking b forward to more consistent WiFi data com I no out on hotels up front.

Leave a Reply

